Tuesday, 11 May 2010

Brazil and Uruguay Name Squads

Dunga has named the 23 players he hopes will bring the FIFA World cup back to Brazil this summer. The big omissions are Flamengo's Adriano and Ronaldinho of AC Milan.

The late season form of goalkeeper Heurehlo Gomes sees him being the only English based player in the 23. Dunga will also name 7 players who will train-on in case of any injuries to the original 23. Others in the squad with English connections are Kleberson of Flamengo who had a spell at Manchester United, the former Arsenal pair of Gilberto Silva and Julio Baptista. Former Manchester City stars Elano and Robinho have been named and the latter is only one of three Brazil based players alongside Kleberson and Gilberto of Cruzeiro.

In an English newspaper this morning, Adriano was named in one of the 100 players to watch by Terry Venables, the former England Head Coach. Obviously he isn't in the loop with what is happening as Adriano's problems have been well documented, hence his rightful exclusion from the squad.

The squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Julio Cesar (Internazionale, Italy), Doni (AS Roma, Italy), Gomes (Tottenham Hotspur, England)

Defenders: Maicon (Inter Milan, Italy), Daniel Alves (Barcelona, Spain), Michel Bastos (Olympique Lyon, France), Gilberto (Cruzeiro, Brazil), Lucio (Internazionale, Italy), Juan (AS Roma, Italy), Luisao (Benfica, Portugal), Thiago Silva (AC Milan, Italy)

Midfielders: Gilberto Silva (Panathinaikos, Greece), Felipe Melo (Fiorentina, Italy), Ramires (Benfica, Portugal), Elano (Galatasaray, Turkey), Kaka (Real Madrid, Spain), Julio Baptista (Roma, Italy), Kleberson (Flamengo, Brazil), Josue (VfL Wolfsburg, Germany).

Forwards: Robinho (Santos, Brazil), Luis Fabiano (Sevilla, Spain), Nilmar (Villarreal, Spain), Grafite (VfL Wolfsburg, Germany).

Meanwhile Uruguay head coach Oscar Washington Tabarez has named an initial 26 man squad for their campaign in South Africa. Only Diego Forlan of Villareal has any English connections, he is a former player of Manchester United. Only four home based players have been selected in the squad; goalkeeper Martin Silva from Defensor Sporting and midfielders Egidio Arevalo-Rios of Penarol, Nacional's Alvaro Gonzalez and Jorge Rodriguez of River Plate (URU). Botaogo forward Sebastian "El Loco" Abreu's early promising form has been rewarded with a place. The final 23 players must be submitted to FIFA by June 1.

The squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Lazio, Italy), Juan-Guillermo Castillo (Deportivo Cali, Colombia), Martin Silva (Defensor Sporting)

Defenders: Diego Lugano (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Diego Godin (Villarreal, Spain), Andres Scotti (Colo Colo, Chile), Jorge Fucile (Porto, Portugal), Martin Caceres (Juventus, Italy), Mauricio Victorino (Universidad de Chile, Chile), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica, Portugal)

Midfielders: Walter Gargano (Napoli, Italy), Egidio Arevalo-Rios (Penarol, Uruguay), Sebastian Eguren (AIK Stockholm, Sweden), Diego Perez (Monaco, France), Alvaro Pereira (Porto, Portugal), Alvaro Fernandez (Universidad de Chile, Chile), Jorge Rodriguez (River Plate, Uruguay), Alvaro Gonzalez (Nacional, Uruguay), Ignacio Gonzalez (Valencia, Spain), Nicolas Lodeiro (Ajax, Netherlands)

Forwards: Sebastian Fernandez (Banfield, Argentina), Luis Suarez (Ajax, Netherlands), Diego Forlan (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Sebastian Abreu (Botafogo, Brazil), Edinson Cavani (Palermo, Italy), Jorge Martinez (Catania, Italy).

No comments: