Monday, 19 April 2010

Campeonato Carioca - Taça Rio Final

Flamengo 1-2 Botafogo

Botafogo stunned Flamengo to win the Taça Guanabara and claim the Campeonato Carioca for the first time since 2006 and a 19th success overall.

In a fiesty game at the Maracanã, there were 17 bookings and 2 red cards issued by referee Gutemburg de Paula Fonseca, Botafogo became the first team to do win both Taça Guanabara and Rio since 1998 and gain revenge on Flamengo for defeat in last three Taça Rio finals. Botafogo took the lead half way through the first half when German Hererra converted from the penalty spot but Flamengo hit back a minute before half time when Vagner Love equalised for the Vultures.

Flamengo then had Claudio Maldonado sent off for the challenge which led to a second Botafogo penalty which was converted by El Loco Sebastian Abreu. Adriano, returning from injury, then had a chance to level the game from the spot but his penalty was saved by Jefferson. German Herrera got himself sent off for arguing against the decision to award the penalty. As hard as Flamengo tried, Botafogo held on to claim the crown and became the first club to do the double since Vasco da Gama in 1998 and end the season in Rio de Janeiro state.

In the Troféu João Ellis Filho Final, América claimed some silverware with a 4-2 win over Macaé. América went in to the break two goals to the good thanks to Gerson and a penalty from Claudemir. Raphael Aguiar pulled a goal back for Macaé just after half time but further goal from Felipe and Jonas made the game safe for América. Andre Gomes grabbed a consolation for Macaé with six minutes to go to end the scoring.

No comments: