Friday, 12 March 2010

2010 Série A Fixtures Released

The fixtures for the 2010 season have been released by the CBF. The season will start on May 8th and run through to the first weekend of December. After the first 8 rounds the season will be put on hold for a month whilst the FIFA World Cup takes place in South Africa. The last fixtures take place on June 6 and then there is nothing until the league recommences with a midweek round on July 14. It also means the number of midweek games scheduled this season has increased as well.

Opening day fixtures see the promoted sides handed tough starts, Atlético-GO will entertain Grêmio, Ceará entertain Fluminense and Guarani host Goiás. The 2009 Série B Champions Vasco da Gama will start their campaign at the Mineirão against Atlético-MG. The fixture planners have also scheduled a blockbuster opener as the Champions Flamengo meet the previous Champions São Paulo at the Maracanã. Robinho and Santos start up the road at the Engenhão against Botafogo while last seasons surprise package Avaí host Prudente. Corinthians will start on neutral soil against Atlético-PR as a sanction from the CBF is imposed, the first of two affected fixtures.

Also some clubs may be forced into a mid season move as work begins on upgrading stadiums to be ready for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The affected stadiums are the Morumbi, Maracanã, Beira Rio, Mineirão and Castelão, the home of Ceará.

So the countdown to kick off is on, its only 57 days until it all gets underway and we'll be there every step of the way at CONMEBalls.

If anyone needs/requires a copy of the fixture list. Please contact us by commenting on this post or via Twitter

No comments: