Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Copa Sudamericana 2011 Draw

The draw for the opening two stages of the 2011 Copa Bridgestone Sudamericana were made today at the Sheraton Hotel in Buenos Aires. The last place in the competition will be decided after the play off in Chile between Deportes Concepción and Universidad de Chile which takes place at the end of July.

Sixteen teams start in the first qualifying stage, the eight winners then join 22 other clubs in the second stage, with Argentinian and Brazilian clubs seeded to meet each other at this stage. The holders Independiente of Argentina, who defeated Goiás of Brazil in the final last year, join the 15 other qualifiers at the Round of 16. The winners qualify for the Recopa Sudamericana and the Sugura Bank Championship

All games are played on a two legged home and away basis, The ties are settled on a points basis with three points for a win and one for a draw. If the two teams are level on points they are seperated by a: goals scored; b: higher number of away goals scored or c: kicks from the penalty mark. There is no extra time played after the second leg. The rules, as ever, are different for the final but we'll cross that bridge further down the line.

Stage One Draw

Match A: San José (BOL) v Nacional (PAR)
Match B: Universidad César Vallejo (PER) v Santa Fe (COL)
Match C: Deportes Concepción/Universidad de Chile (CHI) v Fénix (URU)
Match D: Deportivo Quito (ECU) v Deportivo Anzoátegui (VEN)
Match E: Olimpia (PAR) v The Strongest (BOL)
Match F: La Equidad (COL) v Juan Aurich (PER)
Match G: Bella Vista (URU) v Universidad Católica (CHI)
Match H: Yaracuyanos (VEN) v LDU Quito (ECU)

Stage Two Draw

Match 1: Argentinos Juniors (ARG) v Vélez Sarsfield (ARG)
Match 2: Winner Match C v Nacional (URU)
Match 3: Vasco da Gama (BRA) v Palmeiras (BRA)
Match 4: Winner Match F v Libertad (PAR)
Match 6: Winner Match D v Universitario (PER)
Match 7: Arsenal (ARG) v Estudiantes (ARG)
Match 8: Winner Match B v Deportivo Cali (COL)
Match 9: Atlético Mineiro (BRA) v Botafogo (BRA)
Match 10: Winner Match E v Emelec (ECU)
Match 11: Lanús (ARG) v Godoy Cruz (ARG)
Match 12: Winner Match H v Trujillanos (VEN)
Match 13: Ceará (BRA) v São Paulo (BRA)
Match 14: Winner Match A v Aurora (BOL)
Match 15: Flamengo (BRA) v Atlético Paranaense (BRA)
Match 16: Winner Match G v Deportes Iquique (CHI)

Round of 16

Winner Match 1 v Winner Match 16
Winner Match 2 v Winner Match 15
Winner Match 3 v Winner Match 14
Winner Match 4 v Winner Match 13
Independiente (ARG) v Winner Match 12
Winner Match 6 v Winner Match 11
Winner Match 7 v Winner Match 10
Winner Match 8 v Winner Match 9

Game schedule will be released shortly, it's all a mix and match for the first two stages with some second stage ties completed before some first stages ties are played. The competition won't start until the close of the Copa América.

Premier Sports will be covering the competition from start to finish.

Premier Sports is the home of live South American Football in the UK
You can subscribe at www.premiersports.tv or by calling 0870 633 9000

No comments: