Friday, 30 July 2010

Copa Sudamericana 2010

Next week the 2010 Copa Nissan Sudamericna gets underway with six of eight first stage ties getting underway. One place in the competition is still to be decided at the moment in Chile as we await the result of a play off between Copa Libertadores Semi Finalists Universidad de Chile and and the 2009 Copa Chile runner up Municipal Iquique. They have yet to play a two legged play-off for the last spot in the draw.

Sixteen teams start in the first qualifying stage, the eight winners then join 22 other clubs in the second stage, with Argentinian and Brazilian clubs seeded to meet each other at this stage. The holder LDU Quito of Ecuador, who defeated Fluminense of Brazil in the final last year, join the 15 other qualifiers at the Round of 16. The winners qualify for the Recopa Sudamericana and the Sugura Bank Championship

All games are played on a two legged home and away basis, The ties are settled on a points basis with three points for a win and one for a draw. If the two teams are level on points they are seperated by a: goals scored; b: higher number of away goals scored or c: kicks from the penalty mark. There is no extra time played after the second leg. The rules as ever are different for the final but we'll cross that bridge further down the line.

THe draw lines up like this.

1st Stage Draw

A: Universitario (BOL) v Colo-Colo (CHI)
B: Guaraní (PAR) v River Plate (URU)
C: Universidad César Vallejo (PER) v Barcelona (ECU)
D: Atlético Huila (COL) v Trujillanos (VEN)
E: Chile 3 v Oriente Petrolero (BOL)
F: Defensor Sporting (URU) v Olimpia (PAR)
G: Deportivo Quito (ECU) v Universidad San Martín (PER)
H: Deportivo Lara (VEN) v Santa Fe (COL)

2nd Stage Draw

1: Winner D v San José (BOL)
2: Independiente (ARG) v Argentinos Juniors (ARG)
3: Winner C v Peñarol (URU)
4: Vitória (BRA) v Palmeiras (BRA)
5: Winner H v Caracas FC (Ven)
6: Santos (BRA) v Avaí (BRA)
7: Winner E v Deportes Tolima (COL)
9: Winner B v Unión San Felipe (CHI)
10: Vélez Sársfield (ARG) v Banfield (ARG)
11: Winner G v Emelec (ECU)
12: Prudente (BRA) v Atlético Mineiro (BRA)
13: Winner A v Cerro Porteño (PAR)
14: Goiás (BRA) v Grêmio (BRA)
15: Winner F v Sport Huancayo
16: Newell's Old Boys (ARG) v Estudiantes (ARG)

Round of 16

1: Winner 16 v Winner 1
2: Winner 9 v LDU Quito (ECU)
3: Winner 12 v Winner 5
4: winner 13 v Winner 4
5: Winner 14 v Winner 3
6: Winner 11 v Winner 6
7: Winner 10 v Winner 7
8: Winner 15 v Winner 2

We'll be bringing you all the action from the competition here at CONMEBalls

No comments: